My First Attempt at Cutting Hair

Bryan has always been the family barber (for himself and the kids, that is), but Bryan was out of town recently when Katie really needed her bangs trimmed so I decided to attempt cutting them myself.  After viewing some haircutting articles and videos online and saying an earnest prayer for help, I sat Katie in her highchair, stuffed her with yoghurt flavored marshmallows, and went for it. 

I was especially nervous because I still remember what happened when I gave my Cher Barbie doll a trim as a child.  For those of you born in the 1970s or earlier, you’ll remember that Cher had hair that went at least down to her knees.  I had only planned to give her black locks a little trim, but due to multiple failed attempts at cutting a straight line, she ended up with a short bob, thus ended my haircutting career for the next 30 years or so. 

So, I was pleasantly surprised when Katie’s haircut ended up turning out quite decently!  (If I do say so myself.)  Here are the before and after photos so that you can be the judge.

"Before"

"Before"

"After"   (The rest of her hair is in a ponytail, in case you were wondering).

"After" (The rest of her hair is in a ponytail, in case you were wondering).

The "swept to the side" look

Leave a Reply

