Teaching ESL

In April I started teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) part-time at our kids’ school, Utsunomiya International Christian School (UICS).  I teach kids of all ages, from preschool through high school.  It’s been fun for me to interact with kids other than my own and to think of fun ways to help the students in each of the different levels develop their English speaking and listening skills.   In the preschool and first grade classes, I use various songs , games, and crafts to make learning fun and with the older students I use a combination of  a textbook called New Interchange and games like charades, pictionary, and Jenga to make English conversation practice more interesting.    While I am teaching English, Katie gets to join the preschool class, including my 45 minute English lesson.

The boys and I on a UICS field trip.  I teach English to all but two of the kids in this photo.

On a field trip with students, teachers, and parents from UICS. I teach English to most of the kids in this photo.

Katie proudly poses with some of the crafts she did in my preschool English class.

Katie proudly poses with some of the crafts she did in my preschool English class.

Leave a Reply

