Having Joy Even When Life is Hard

Since starting this blog way back in…well, whenever it was…I have successfully avoided writing very many deep blog entries.  I just haven’t felt like it.  But, now that I’m FORTY (and I suppose, technically, an actual adult, though I don’t really feel like one most of the time) I thought I would occasionally post something deeper that relates to something I’ve been reading in the Bible.   Since I really like the Bible (I often say it is the roadmap for my life) and I am frequently reading it and thinking about it, I thought I’d add that as a component to my blog every now and then.

This morning I was reading in Romans Chapter 5, verses 1-5 and was struck by the idea of rejoicing in the midst of really difficult circumstances.  Here are the verses I read:

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 
 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. 
 Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 
perseverance, character; and character, hope. 
And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.
 

I find it pretty easy to be joyful when I think about God’s love for me, but much, much harder when I’m going through life circumstances that discourage and disappoint me.  I have three friends who are going through really difficult things in their lives right now.  One is battling advanced stomach cancer, one is going through chemotherapy for another type of cancer, and another’s husband is critically ill and has been in the hospital for several months.  All three of these women love Jesus and what strikes me about each of them is their ability to be upbeat and positive and to trust God in the midst of suffering and trials.  Wow, I really admire these women.  To me, they are totally living out this idea of rejoicing in the midst of suffering and their attitudes are so attractive to me.   I’m positive that they have cried and felt discouraged over their situations, but their ability to trust God and his love for them during times like this is something that I really respect.  I hope I can be like that too, when difficult times come into my life.   Ladies, I’m praying for you!!

2 thoughts on “Having Joy Even When Life is Hard

  1. Renee, your deep thoughts are profound–this one and all the many others that you don’t blog about. also, you are a steady prayer warrior! thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

