Katie’s First Quilt!

A few days ago, Katie decided she wanted to make a small lap quilt.  She saw a basic explantion of how to make a simple quilt in this book and wanted to give it a try.  We’ve been trying to get more exercise into our lives recently so we hopped on our bikes and rode to the nearest mall where there is a fabric store.  Katie picked out three fabrics she wanted on the front of the quilt and then chose a pink quilted fabric for the back so that she could skip the step of adding batting in the middle.  Since this was her very first quilting project, we both felt that simple was better.

After we rode our bikes home, Katie got started right away on making her project.  I helped her with the cutting and with pinning the pieces together, but she decided the design and sewed the three pieces on the front together.  I also helped with ironing down the seams on the back of the pieces she had sewed together (since the book said we should do that).  At this point, Katie was feeling a bit tired out from all her sewing but she wanted to to finish the project that day, so she chose a fancy stitch and I offered to topstich around the quilt to finish it off.  So, I guess this time the quilt was a team effort!

The lap blanket turned out great and to my surprise Katie later wrapped it up and gave it to me as an early birthday present!  I didn’t realize we were making it for me!  In the chilly months it will be great for putting over my lap during homeschool read aloud times.

Here are some photos of Katie working hard on her quilt and enjoying the results.

5 thoughts on “Katie’s First Quilt!

  1. I ran across your blog while doing a search for Homeschool and Utsunomiya.🙂 It sounds like you’ve been living here for quite some time. I am also in Utsunomiya right now. Can you tell me whether there is any homeschool support group in Utsunomiya? I’d be especially interested in knowing if there are any Japanese people who homeschool in the area, and getting involved in any field trips, etc.🙂

    • I’m sorry, but I don’t know of any homeschool support groups here. I only know of two other families who homeschool, one Japanese family and one American. The other American family is connected with Honda and they return to the States soon. I think there are some other families who homeschool that are connected with Honda, but I don’t know any of them. Our kids attend a private Japanese church school three days a week and we homeschool 2-3 days a week. So our kids have music, occasional field trips, etc. through that. What ages are your kids? We also belong to School Support Services (the office within Christian Academy in Japan in Tokyo that supports homeschooling families in Japan.) They offer activities on their campus and have a lending library that will send you English books in the mail. They have a discount for families who live outside of Tokyo. You can google them.

      • Thanks. My oldest is 6 years old. I’m also returning to the US soon, so I’m not too worried about curriculum. I just had thought it would be nice to meet some Japanese homeschoolers if there were a group in the area.

  2. Oh, Katie — I am soooo impressed with your design and sewing skills. Your Great Grandmother Dorothy Lewis (my mother) would be VERY proud of you. She was a very skillful sewer, both by hand and by sewing machine.

    Love,
    Grandpa Bob.

Leave a Reply

